Back to the nice, safe, unconfusing four in hand…


Today’s shirt is a cream colored TM Lewin, regular fit, Prince of Wales collar. I do like their slim fit because the regular fit contain so much extra fabric that it makes me look overweight. The tie is a Brooks Brothers Mini BB# 1 Repp stripe model in navy. The stripes are gold and what I would call royal blue. The gold stripes are the reason I chose the cream shirt. Had the shirt been busier I might have opted for a solid navy coat but chose the windowpane to add a little something more.

Notice the tie clip only makes it about half way across the blade of the tie. The clip traverses at least three quarters of the blade on some of my newer neckties. My newer neckties make a larger, fuller knot than this tie. The fullness comes from the thickness of the tie. The larger knot comes from the blade width where the knot is formed. Even though I prefer a four in hand knot I also prefer a larger knot to fill the tie space of the more spread collar shirts that I’ve recently begun to like. What I’m getting at is that I like a skinnier tie with a less severe taper than this Brooks Brothers tie. Feh, what do I know?

Anyways, it’s a theory.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

