Another Nicky Knot


Today’s shirt is a TM Lewin St. James slim fit. The collar is a full cutaway, creating a lot of tie space. I really did try a four-in-hand knot first but it just didn’t fill the tie space to suit me.  This TM Lewin tie actually has a pretty thick lining. One of the reasons I selected it. After a couple of iterations of a four-in-hand, I decided to try the Nicky instead and it worked to satisfaction.

Yes, I did think about a Half Windsor and that is what I would have tried next. There’s no way I would have gone Full Windsor, given the thickness of the tie.

Plain, white pocket square, given all the other things going on with the window pane coat and stripes on the shirt and tie.

  1. April 4th, 2011

Leave a Reply

